Rotate Device
This website is only viewable in landscape mode
Jazz Africa

Buy Now

Listen Now

Jazz Africa


“Recorded in Los Angeles’ Wiltern Theatre one December afternoon as part of the Jazzvisions project, this was released four years later almost as an afterthought to the series — and even many of Hancock’s electric music fans weren’t aware it was out. A pity, for this is one of the great unheralded Herbie Hancock recordings, a rock-’em, sock-’em, live tour de force that fuses Hancock’s electric keyboard work, Foday Musa Suso’s kora, incantory vocals, and scraping violin, and a thundering African/Caribbean rhythm section.

The CD opens and ends quietly with the delicate, folk-like music introduced on Village Life but the record is dominated by two lengthy, madly swinging workouts for Hancock, Suso and the rhythm section, which is anchored by Santana’s ageless Cuban-born percussionist Armando Peraza.

Though not all of the concert is included here (the laserdisc and VHS versions contain more music), the CD does convey a good deal of the incredible energy level of the live event, where Hancock looked and played like a man possessed. This was a real breakthrough for Hancock, but alas, this perpetual chameleon has yet to pursue this stimulating direction further.” – Allmusic

Digitally recorded live at the Wiltern Theatre in Los Angeles, CA in 24-Track Sony Digital Stereo by the Record Plant remote truck.

Mixed and edited at the Record Plant.

All songs by Foday Musa Suso, Suso Music / BMI

Herbie Hancock appears courtesy of CBS Records

Lorimar Telepictures Presents A Jack Lewis Production

© 1990 PolyGram records, Inc.

℗ 1987 PolyGram records, Inc.

Manufactured and Marketed by PolyGram Classics and Jazz, a division of PolyGram records, Inc., New York, New York.
Printed in U.S.A.

Part of the Jazzvisions™ series.

  • 1. Kumbasora 6:47
  • 2. Debo 17:16
  • 3. Cigarette Lighter 13:14
  • 4. Jimbasing 7:50
  • Herbie Hancock (Keyboards)
  • Foday Musa Suso (Kora, Vocals, Composer)
  • Adam Rudolph (Percussion)
  • Aiyb Dieng (Percussion)
  • Armando Peraza (Percussion)
  • Joe Thomas (Bass)
  • Hamid Drake (Drums, Percussion)
  • Abdul Hakeem (Guitar)
  • Jack Lewis (Producer)
  • Joel 'The Octopus' Moss (Recording Engineer, Mixing Engineer)
  • Chris Thompson (Art Direction)
  • David Lau (Design)