Rotate Device
This website is only viewable in landscape mode
Lite Me Up

Buy Now

Listen Now

Lite Me Up


“Hancock’s studio effort Lite Me Up, was in many ways a departure from the previous albums. Above all, it is the first Hancock album that was not produced by David Rubinson since their cooperation began in 1969. On this occasion, Hancock assumed this role himself, except for the piano-driven “Paradise,” which was produced by Jay Graydon, and the boogie funk tune “Can’t Hide Your Love,” produced by Narada Michael Walden and featuring Hancock on vocals – without vocoder.

Instead, Hancock drew inspiration from another producer and old friend of his, Quincy Jones (a year before, Hancock had played on the recording sessions for Jones’ album The Dude). The album attests to a fruitful writing collaboration between Hancock and Rod Temperton, Jones’ songwriter of choice at that time. The recording personnel features many Quincy Jones affiliates, such as Patti Austin on background vocals, bassist Louis Johnson, guitarist Steve Lukather, drummers Jeff Porcaro and John Robinson, synthesizer player Michael Boddicker, and the Seawind Horns with arrangements by Jerry Hey. The result is a superb album with disco-funk of the first order, including a vocoder duet between Hancock and Patrice Rushen on “Give It All Your Heart.” – 2013 Sony Box Set Liner Notes

Produced by Herbie Hancock except track 4, produced by Jay Graydon, and track 5, produced by Narada Michael Walden.

Recorded and mixed (probably) 1981-1982 by George Massenburg at George Massenburg Studios, L.A.

Track 4 basic track recorded by Leslie Ann Jones at El Dorado Studios, Hollywood, CA; vocal track recorded by Jay Graydon at Garden Rake Studios, Studio City, CA; keyboard overdubs and background vocals recorded by George Massenburg at George Massenburg Studios, L.A.

Track 5 basic track and overdubs recorded by Ken Kessie at The Automatt, S.F.; background vocals and additional keyboards recorded at El Dorado Studios, Hollywood, CA

Originally released April 1982 as Columbia LP FC-37928

Billboard chart info: Pop 151, 6 wks; R&B 31, 8 wks; Jazz 10

Instrument Glossary:

Moog Source – A monophonic analog synthesizer that was the first synthesizer to offer patch memory storage. Herbie played this instrument on his 1982 album Lite Me Up.

Roland Jupiter 8 – Roland’s first professional analog polyphonic synthesizer made in the early 1980s. It featured eight-voice polyphony and easy programming. Herbie played this instrument on Lite Me Up.

Synclavier Digital – First made in 1979, this digital polyphonic sampling synthesizer was known as the top of the line and could cost as much as $200,000. It featured a full-size weighted keyboard with sixty-four note polyphony. Herbie first used this instrument on Lite Me Up.

  • 1. Lite Me Up! 3:41
  • 2. The Bomb 3:59
  • 3. Gettin' To The Good Part 6:13
  • 4. Paradise 4:29
  • 5. Can't Hide Your Love 3:55
  • 6. The Fun Tracks 4:04
  • 7. Motor Mouth 3:59
  • 8. Give It All Your Heart 7:41
  • Herbie Hancock (Composer, Producer)
  • Herbie Hancock (Keyboards, Vocoder)
  • Herbie Hancock (Linn Drum, Synthesizers)
  • Herbie Hancock (Clavitar, Background Vocals)
  • David Williams (Guitar)
  • George Massenburg (Recording Engineer, Mixing Engineer)
  • Ken Kessie (Recording Engineer)
  • Leslie Ann Jones (Recording Engineer)
  • Jay Graydon (Guitar, Producer (Track 4))
  • Abraham Laboriel (Bass)
  • Jeff Porcaro (Drums)
  • Louis Johnson (Bass)
  • David Foster (Keyboard Arranger, Background Vocals)
  • John Robinson (Drums)
  • Steve Lukather (Guitar)
  • Michael Boddicker (Synth Programming)
  • Rick Kelly (Synth Programming)
  • Wayne Anthony (Lead Vocals)
  • Rod Temperton (Rhythm Arrangement, Vocal Arrangement)
  • Jerry Hey (Trumpet)
  • Jerry Hey (String & Horn Arrangement)
  • Chuck Findley (Trumpet, Trombone)
  • Bill Reichenbach (Trombone)
  • Gary Herbig (Saxophones, Woodwinds)
  • Larry Williams (Saxophones, Woodwinds)
  • Patti Austin (Background Vocals)
  • Jim Gilstrap (Background Vocals)
  • Richard Page (Background Vocals)
  • Venette Gloud (Background Vocals)
  • Corrado Rustici (Guitar)
  • Randy Jackson (Bass)
  • Patrice Rushen (Lead Vocoder Vocals)
  • Paulinho da Costa (Percussion)
  • Narada Michael Walden (Drums, Background Vocals)
  • Frank Martin (Synth)
  • Linda Lawrence (Background Vocals)
  • Sheri Payne (Background Vocals)
  • Bill Champlin (Background Vocals)
  • Paulette McWilliams (Background Vocals)
  • John Lehman (Background Vocals)
  • Edi Lehman (Background Vocals)