Rotate Device
This website is only viewable in landscape mode
The New Standard

Buy Now

Listen Now

The New Standard


“Herbie Hancock performs a set of tunes which include numbers from the likes of Peter Gabriel, Stevie Wonder, Sade, Paul Simon, Prince, the Beatles (“Norwegian Wood”) and Kurt Cobain. However by adding vamps, reharmonizing the chord structures, sometimes quickly discarding the melodies and utilizing an all-star band, Hancock was able to transform the potentially unrewarding music into creative jazz.

Hancock, who sticks to acoustic piano, shows that he is still in prime form, taking quite a few fiery solos. With Michael Brecker on tenor and surprisingly effective soprano, guitarist John Scofield, bassist Dave Holland, drummer Jack DeJohnette and percussionist Don Alias (along with an occasional horn or string section that was dubbed in later), the results are often quite hard-swinging and certainly never predictable. Herbie Hancock has successfully created a memorable set of “new” music. Well worth investigating.” – Allmusic

The New Standard won a Grammy Award in 1996 for ‘Best Instrumental Composition – Manhattan (Island Of Lights And Love)’.

  • 1. New York Minute 8:36
  • 2. Mercy Street 8:38
  • 3. Norwegian Wood 8:07
  • 4. When Can I See You 6:18
  • 5. You've Got It Bad Girl 7:15
  • 6. Love Is Stronger Than Pride 8:00
  • 7. Scarborough Fair 8:24
  • 8. Thieves In The Temple 7:33
  • 9. All Apologies 5:08
  • 10. Manhattan 4:07
  • 11. Your Gold Teeth II 5:14
  • Herbie Hancock (Piano)
  • Michael Brecker (Tenor & Soprano Saxophone)
  • John Scofield (Acoustic & Electric Guitar)
  • John Scofield (Electric Sitar)
  • Dave Holland (Acoustic Bass)
  • Jack DeJohnette (Drums, Electric Percussion)
  • Don Alias (Percussion)